2022 Faculty & Staff Excellence Award Recipients Announced

Beverley Brown Excellence in Teaching Award: Jamie Parrott 
Named for iconic art teacher Beverley Brown, the Beverley Brown Excellence in Teaching Award is given to the faculty member who most successfully challenges, motivates, and supports students. 
Within an incredibly strong faculty, Jamie Parrott stood out for her unwavering commitment to know and lift each of her Grade 5 students. She challenged them to not only reach their full potential but to understand who they are and who they want to be.

L.T. Murray Family Chair for Excellence: Paula Coumou 

The L.T. Murray Family Chair for Excellence is awarded to a faculty or staff member who has provided distinguished service to AWS, involved themselves beyond the school in ways that promote the goals and philosophy of AWS, and demonstrated excellence in academics that encourage global understanding. 

With COVID-19 leaving so many uncertain and anxious, the AWS community needed strength, confidence, and above all, care. They found this in Nurse Paula. Her compassionate tending of the AWS flock was unrivaled, and we owe her a tremendous debt of gratitude.


Annie Wright Schools
827 North Tacoma Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98403


Translate this site

Founded in Tacoma, Washington, in 1884, Annie Wright Schools serve students from age three through high school. Annie Wright Lower and Middle Schools offer coed programs in Preschool through Grade 8, while separate Upper Schools for girls and boys offer day and boarding options in Grades 9 through 12. Annie Wright is proud to be an International Baccalaureate World School.