2015-2016 Board of Trustees

Annie Wright Schools are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a voluntary Board of Trustees. The Board is made up of parents, alumni and professionals whose time and talents contribute to the operation of the schools. The Board’s major responsibilities include the following:
  • Hire and evaluate the schools' Head
  • Define the schools' mission and set policies
  • Strategic oversight
  • Ensure financial resources are available to the schools
  • Observe and monitor programs and services the schools provide


Executive Committee
John Long, Chair
Julia Cho, Vice Chair
John Parrott, Treasurer
Kelly Givens, Secretary

Board Members
Michele Cannon Bessler
Bob Crist
Jim Defebaugh
Laura Edman
Tony Escobar
Judy Forkner '63
Tom Hanly
Suzanne Hattery
John Lantz
Marcia Moe
Jamie Murray
Amy Paulose '95
Chris Sakas
Cathy Schneider
Pamela Hyde Smith '63

Trustee Associates
Jode Beauvais
Judy Dunn
Sara Long

Ex-Officio Members
Gayle Gray, AWSPA President
Taylor Cassell '09, Global Alumni Board President
Rebecca Kirkpatrick '97, Episcopal Church Representative
Christian Sullivan, Head of Schools


Annie Wright Schools
827 North Tacoma Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98403

Translate this page:

Founded in Tacoma, Washington, in 1884, Annie Wright Schools serve students from age three through high school. Annie Wright Lower and Middle Schools offer co-ed programs in Preschool through Grade 8, while separate Upper Schools for girls and boys offer day and boarding options in Grades 9 through 12. Annie Wright is proud to be an International Baccalaureate World School.