Annual Philanthropy Report 2018-2019

Board of Trustees

Annie Wright Schools are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a voluntary Board of Trustees. The Board is made up of parents, alumni and professionals in the community whose time and talents contribute to the operation of the schools. The Board’s major responsibilities include the following:
  • Hire and evaluate the schools' Head
  • Define the schools' mission and set policies
  • Strategic oversight
  • Ensure financial resources are available to the schools
  • Observe and monitor programs and services the schools provide
2018-2019 Board of Trustees
John Parrott – President
Michele Cannon Bessler – Vice Chair
Jim Defebaugh – Treasurer
Kelly Givens – Secretary
Percy Abram
Sally (Peterson) Atherton '66
Sarah Kaiser '93
Cathy Close
Stephanie Cook '88
Bob Crist
Jeff Davis
Laura Edman
Tony Escobar
Judy (Yengling) Forkner '63
Suzanne Hattery
Lisa Hoffman
Marcia Moe
Jamie Murray
David Overton
Merritt (Klarsch) Pulliam '92
Pamela Hyde Smith ‘63
Marilyn Strickland
Aliya Merali Virani ‘96
Ex-Officio Members:
Maggie Eliel
The Rev. Elizabeth Appling '63
Christian Sullivan


Annie Wright Schools
827 North Tacoma Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98403

Translate this page:

Founded in Tacoma, Washington, in 1884, Annie Wright Schools serve students from age three through high school. Annie Wright Lower  and Middle Schools offer coed programs in Preschool through Grade 8, while separate Upper Schools for girls  and boys offer day and boarding options in Grades 9 through 12. Annie Wright is proud to be an International Baccalaureate World School.